For your holiday reading…

So… it’s the holiday season [for you], and so, you are looking for some light reading on quantum mechanics, right?

Well, I won’t disappoint you.

Check out this document [^].

Happy reading. Happy Christmas. Happy New Year! See you at this blog the next year!

[I am running the initial sanity-check on my new QM ideas. [I am, like, 99.99% certain to declare in the new year that my approach as stated in my published papers is wrong, and that it needs to be replaced by some new ideas such as what I now have [though I will not be retracting my papers just as yet]], and thus am likely to share my new thoughts on QM the next year. In the meanwhile, once again, happy: reading, Christmas, and New Year! Oh, BTW, writing on my new QM ideas (and explaining why my old ones are wrong, and how they are not all that completely wrong), is my NYR for 2016.]

 


 

A Song I Like:

(Western, Instrumental) “The Girl from Ipanema”

[I mean the instrumentals version of this song. Not (any of) the sung version(s). And certainly not the one where the singer has a double-decker of a hair-style.

As far as versions are concerned, Wiki tells [^] me that this song “is believed to be the second most recorded pop song in history, after `Yesterday’ by The Beatles” [and the needed citation is supplied, too; it refers to an article in WSJ]. Thus, it’s useless trying to be knowledgeable about this song—all its different versions.

I will therefore come straight to the version which I listened to for the first time in life, and which is one of the versions I still like: it’s the recording by the 101 Strings Orchestra. [Apparently, there are some good things in life that go by the name “101”, too.]

In my book, The 101 Strings Orchestra has a tie, actually, with the version by James Last and his orchestra. And, with just one page of one google search today, I now find that I like this version [^] equally well, too! In all the three cases, the instrumentals beat the human voice-sung versions by a galactic margin. … There is something about the instrumentals that make them appear a bit more restrained (and therefore more deep or even profound!), and yet, at the same time, also more suggestive. May be it’s because of the fact that they are more abstract—I don’t know. Anyway, enjoy the music, best wishes, and bye for now!]

[E&OE]

