Yo 6—A few interesting links, etc.

Just a few quick notes…

  • I really appreciated this reply by “John D” at Sean Carroll’s blog [^]. Prof. Hammond’s article to which he provides a link [(PDF) ^] has a superb summary of history of mechanics and electromagnetism, condensed down amazingly to just a few paragraphs.
  • This discussion [^] at iMechanica has turned pretty interesting. It began with Prof. Suo’s notes on frame indifference (in the context of his course on plasticity), but soon turned into a discussion on the exact meaning of the terms like gradient, vector, etc. … As you would expect, I have jumped in, too, but of course, with only a minor aside. For comparison, go through the clarifications by Prof. Amit Acharya of Carnegie Mellon, and Prof. Arash Yavari of Georgia Tech.
  • Dr. Harry Binswanger’s blog-like Web site has undergone a change. Now, HBL is supposed to be HBL 2.0, and in the new version it  stands for the Harry Binswanger Letter (and not the Harry Binswanger List). The HBL 2.0 is less frequently updated [^], but I gather that it now has a member’s area without any size limit for the comments. … The only reason I don’t want to join the list letter-cum-blog is that I know it would be a great time-sink for me. I am already far too pressed for time.
  • But, while we are at it, the holiday-reading season is almost around the corner. So let me tell you that Harry Binswanger’s book “How We Know” [^] is just amazing. This is one book that is making me read it    v     e     r     y         s     l     o     w     l     y. [That means that I like the book.] And, don’t wait for my review of this book; it’s never going to come. I mean, I already know by now that I won’t write one. So, just take my word for it, and just go ahead and buy it. (Lower-cost e-Versions are available.)

* * * * *   * * * * *   * * * * *

There are a few changes to my blog-roll, as well. I have deleted the links to a few blogs that anyway were more or less completely defunct, rectified the links to others (e.g. HBL), and also added a few new links. The process will continue. I would like to add a few S&T-related blogs in this list in the near future, too.

* * * * *   * * * * *   * * * * *

My next post could very well be concerning a few items about the diffusion equation (and about foundations of physics) that have now come under a much better focus and understanding for me. For instance, I think I now will be able to show that the proof for the uniqueness of solution is faulty. … [It would be relatively easy for me to do that because the existing proof is one by contradiction. These are always an easier game.]

* * * * *   * * * * *   * * * * *

A Song I Like:
[I don’t know why!]
(Hindi) “nazar naa lag jaaye… [Oh my love…]”
Singer: Mohamad Rafi
Music: Laxmikant Pyarelal
Lyrics: Anand Bakshi

[E&OE]

 

 

