I am out of job, again

I am out of the Y.T. Institute of Engineering and Technology, Karjat, near Mumbai (YTIET for short).

And thus, out of any job, once again.

That way, at YTIET, things were going pretty smoothly for me. This semester, I was expected to teach a course on Advanced Stress Analysis to ME (Mech. Engg.) students. I had also begun work on guiding a couple of students of ME in Mech. Engg. Actually, the college had even put up a new, comfortably big, and airy cabin for me—by installing a partition in a much bigger room, in our department.

However, surprisingly, no official email ID or Internet connections were provided to me. These were, in a way, more important to me. They were urgently necessary so that I, together with my ME student, could have done the necessary literature search, and used the affiliation with YTIET, to submit the abstract of our planned paper to an upcoming international conference in time.

And, assigning official email IDs is such a routine thing.

My HoD had formally forwarded my request, and informally made enquiries through peons several times over, but to no effect. Finally, my HoD sent a Lab Assistant to the IT services office of the college, and then, we were advised that I had to personally go and seek permission from “HR” before an email ID for me could be set up.

There also were delays in setting up a bank account, in my case—as pointed out by other professors. They, too, had advised me to go and check with the HR.

Finally, with the new semester actually getting running, there were quite a few email messages that were routed to the faculty members only via the internal official email groups. Since I didn’t have an ID, they never reached me.

So, on August 8th, I went to the HR department, and generally asked for an explanation about the lack of provision of an email ID. I received replies from the junior-most HR folks that were, at best, say, indifferent. They simply didn’t say anything about when the email ID would be provided. As to the back account, it was when I brought up the matter that they asked me whether I had submitted a set of the copies of my degree certificates, also to their accounts department—which, physically, is just downstairs. Note, by that time, I had already submitted three sets of all my documents to various departments in the same building. In fact, I had submitted my first complete set to these very same HR ladies, right in the first/second week of July. Later on, in the third week of July, when the same ladies had asked me for one more set, since I did not have any additional Xerox sets ready with me, I had borrowed my file from these same HR people, took a flight downstairs, got five copies made at the Xerox machines right there (in the same building) within 10 minutes, came back, handed over my file to them (from which these Xerox copies were made), and then, even enquired them if by any chance any more sets were needed now that I had these extra sets in hand. The answer, then, was a plain “no.” At no point of time in six weeks had they (or anyone else) ever advised me to submit an extra set also to their accounts department. And, still, now, they felt free to ask me if I had submitted an additional set (in all, it would have been the fourth set) to one of the offices just downstairs!

Naturally, I got angry with them. As far as is possible, you should not make even a student to run from the pillar to the post, first asking him to get just a single Xerox set, and then yet another set again later, and then, one more set yet again, whenever a whim to do so descends on you. You should not. Not even for a student. And, to a Full Professor like me, when he has already submitted three sets, you must not.

So I asked them, angrily, if they could not simply get another set of Xerox copies made from the file which anyway was with them, and forward it to the different departments in their office as necessary?

… Yes, angry, I sure was, but I was not as angry as I otherwise have been in many other places of work (while still keeping my job, both in the US and in India, both in industry and in academia).

But the (Marathi word that is favorite of newspapers like “SakaaL”) “taruNaai” these days does seem to be different.

The above incident led to a more senior guy from HR, one Mr. Mayur Kurade, immediately sending messages through three different peons to me, to the effect that I should go and see him, that afternoon. (Just after the above incident, I had stepped out for lunch.)

When I went to see him, apparently, Mr. Kurade was angry, too. And, more. Smug. He seemed to have made up his mind to show me who wielded the real power. That led to an argument. … Among the many other funny things he said, he had asked me to write an email to the chairman about it. I had taken down the chairman’s email ID, but had added, plainly, that I may not write directly to the Chairman for such a simple thing. Not so soon, anyway. All this happened on August 8th. Apparently, the same day, Mr. Kurade himself wrote an email to the Chairman.

The net result was that, to the apparent astonishment of all, including my academic colleagues and superiors, on the late evening of August 10th, I was asked to stop going to college by the Chairman of this group of institutions. (August 9th was the Id holiday.)

A decision like this was communicated to me late on the evening of August 10th, by a phone call—neither an email nor a letter. It was communicated not by my HoD, nor the Acting Principal, nor the Campus Director (who is Chairmain’s younger brother), nor the Chairman himself, but by an HR manager—not Mr. Kurade, but someone other than him, someone who is a bit more senior to him—one Mr. Ramakant Tare.  Mr. Tare, it turned out, had no idea as to exactly what had transpired with Mr. Kurade and the more junior ladies in the HR on August 8th. (On that afternoon, he had gone out of campus for some work—else, he would have been the first person I would have gone to ask about my email IDs.)

Now, my receiving this call of termination of my services happened to be the late evening of the same day (August 10th) on which, right in the morning, we had an inaugural function for welcoming the ME students this year. I was very much a part of the proceedings of that function in the morning and afternoon. Indeed, along with all the other professors teaching the ME programs, I was even officially introduced to the new students in the auditorium, mentioning the course that I will be teaching them.

BTW, the college also got its new Principal on the morning of the same day (August 10th). Indeed, I was asked to accompany all the HoDs at the time that the new Principal officially took charge. I thus was the only non-HoD person present for the occasion; it probably was a gesture of respect given to my seniority by my academic colleagues and superiors.

Actually, in the afternoon of August 10th, I even had a lunch with all the HoDs of this college. Though the inaugural function served snacks, they had bought tiffins from home as usual, and decided to have lunch together in my HoD’s cabin. As I dropped by in his room for something else, I was immediately called over by them to join them for lunch—nay, they insisted upon it. I even narrated the HR incident to tell, and they laughed at it, mentioning someone from the Admin side (no longer with them) with whom I probably would have had daily fights. Some of them even expressed satisfaction that I had taken the HR to the task over their failure to provide such simple things. The atmosphere, there, in the afternoon of August 10th was, thus, as usual: informal, friendly, and perhaps also a bit respectful.

Thus, I believe, there very probably was not even a verbal hint let alone any more persistent form of communication about this decision being conveyed in advance to any of my superiors—a decision that already had been taken, and a decision that was unknown even to the HoDs, right until the evening of August 10th. In fact, the decision was not known even to a Principal of an adjacent engineering college belonging to the same group of institutions. (The group has three engineering colleges, all near Karjat.) I called him late at night of August 10th to keep him informed of the decision;  he too was completely taken in by surprise.

Clearly, the HR people in the know (i.e., mainly, Mr. Mayur Kurade) had not bothered to let any of the HoDs or principals know in advance—else they could have at least prevented the embarrassment of having me in the inaugural function on the same day that I would be fired!

Alright… There still are a few remaining things that I would like to note before closing. First, right the next working day (i.e. on Monday, August 12th), they did pay me my salary up to that date in full, and also immediately issued me my relieving certificate. They can be super-efficient when the need to do so arises. Second, the more senior HR/Admin person (i.e. Mr. Ramakant Tare) listened to “my side” (i.e. what all I knew) completely, and after that, his expressions changed visibly. He seemed genuinely regretful about the whole thing—and, as is usual in such instances, expressing his helplessness. Third, I did have some email communication with the Chairman later on (i.e. after August 12th).

All in all, I am happy to note that I have come out of that place—I mean, the SES group of institutions. Not necessarily Karjat, though!

* * * * *   * * * * *   * * * * *

(BTW, Mr. Kurade has an MBA from an institute belonging to the DY Patil group. He also carries a LinkedIn Recommendation (LOL!) from a British manager. As to the Chairman: While in YTIET, I had come to know that he happens to be some 3–4 years junior to me by age. Later on, I gathered from his (the then existing) LinkedIn profile that this guy did his education (“Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (M.B.B.S.), Post Graduate In Radiology, Medicine Grade: First”) from “Modern High-School, Pune.”)

* * * * *   * * * * *   * * * * *

Obviously, I am on the lookout for a suitable job. I also have a couple of more updates to make at this blog, may be right today. All my updates were pending because I was busy moving all my stuff (as you know, mainly the books) back to Pune. I am done with it now.

* * * * *   * * * * *   * * * * *

A Song I Like:

(Marathi) “naa naa naa naa, naa naa naa naa, naahee naahee naahee ga_,
ho… aataa punhaa, majasi yeNe naahi ga_…”
Music: Manas Mukherjee
Singer: Usha Mangeshkar
Lyrics: Shanta Shelke

 

[E&OE]

One thought on “I am out of job, again

  1. ZIPPO ブランド
    ,しかし、大きな価値あるいは全く意味における率の減少が意味する、便利な上に入る!これらの卸売業者だけで、マークダウン率で配布することは簡単です、商品は通常、排他性を維持するための部門のお店とは違って、一番上のボリュームで取引されています。これらの卸売業者使用される別の合理的な方法は、彼らがウェブベースの販売されています。オンラインストアでは、売主は、調達、従業員、家賃、等のような経費については気にしませんでした。彼女の閣下マリアムSheikhaビント先生アジズChandnaしようアル·タニ氏は、スターが過半数プロトコルは以前カタールに言及エチケットを訓練するために代表ハレド。シーリング、ハードウェア大半のアクセントがから作成されます。いくつかのユニークなハンドバッグは、別のどのような種類の革で生成したラムの結果、カーフですが、ゴートスキンは、特許物質を維持する、しかし、それは革の内部で区別することが効果的な品質又はその他の非常によく似ています。裏地は、任意のそれからの素敵な輝きで記録されたサテンの素材と最も恐ろしいデザイナーグッチジップ近所ウォレット汚染Pythonの冬の数ヶ月の葉で作られたとみなされているレザーベースのトリム識別名ブランドやエンブレム次の裏地を持っている。嵐もうすぐキャンプrrnsideできるだけあなたの特別なバッグ “ウエット”パックでは、家に帰ってくるとすぐに溶液を除去し、空気乾燥しているのに役立ちます。ワイプは、それを維持する前に、すべての残骸を立ち上げました。それは屋外ながら、毎日この問題の世話をする場合に最適であることを起こる。そこにいくつかの犬の所有者があり、すべての立ち上げ、犬の糞袋を分解することができる使用して確立された場合、それらはすべての貢献との違いを作成しません。彼らは写真の犬を散歩されるべき電話番号犬は実際に、それはすべての所有者は、子犬うんち袋を使用されるかどうか、特に、地球に影響を与えることができます。
    レディースティンバーランド

    グッチ靴の使用可能なスタイルの認識と共に誰かである何回もペアを提供しています今多くの年の少くとも開発になるされています。これ開発ホーム付属に沿ってよく残る印象的な創造性と簡単な才能を使用してアクションを取るにまた学校の設計からの認識を利用するスタイルの場所を供給します。誰でも希望する個人、ペア、履物今ことができます単にアドバイザーの低コストの靴を購入することができますので。誰もがジーンズの有機と自然のセットが大好きです。彼らはセクシーで、後半のように快適なピアするのに役立つだろう、したがってが実行可能。彼らはどんな厄介なを得ることがなく見栄えすることができますを意味します。また、義務することはできません月額料金インテリア金融義務を支払う。Facebook のユーザーはこの特定のゲームの提供を定期的に演奏によって報告される多大な支援とフィードバックを与えています。フォント範囲から CMS を奨励、起きる変更を必要とする、フォント仕様とテキスト色のあなた自身の上の実際のフォーム ジム ・ ピーターソン配送と配信拒否サービスを私たち大人の生活を少し本質的な時間の節約になっています。ブラック ボックス「グッチ」の設計とこの男のカバーについてスタイルを維持します。頃 darkish ダスト粒子のハンドバッグ、簡単な投稿クラシファイド ツイン”G”の名である右の段階を生成し、これらコンテンツを方法繊維袋の 1 つが予定されています。彼は可能性が理解しているだけ被害者は多量の靴これらのブーツや靴を得ている場所経由でビデオ クリップを発見するたびなどの製造を含む会社の彼らがだまされてはいけない。
    , ハミルトン ベルト

    prada バッグ
    ,だけでなくナイアグラまだ許容されるは、その結果容認 nil の 1 つは期間と思った時間に終っています。商人常にアシストを使用するためのバッグ、旅行からの仕事をもたらすホーム、食料品、靴、およびまたは新しいトートバッグ。全体的な: ネットワー キングと知ってあなたのすべての準備ができている、あなたの家の夢でこの信じては全く。ほとんどの人はちょうど単独で、インターネットに依存する必要しますが、携帯電話とルーチンのメールで問い合わせの誰もに重要なまま。ようであるけれども実用的な個人的な接触の重要性を過小評価しないで、やはりアート出ていた。プラダ クロス トレーナー販売プラダ クラッチ プラダ ハンドバッグ オンライン パソコン トラブルシューティングの増加する量の成長に代替の理由は、その費用対効果です。場合マーク一つニューカマーはこれらだけを知って行うこといくつかの主要なものの支出を引き起こすものを所有して金銭をオンライン ショッピング。オンライン ショッピングの主な利点はちょうど購入製品 youre の考えることについて調べるの多くになります。最近スザンヌ ウールコット機能キャッチ、目の領域のほとんどの女性の人のコレクション投資 Gorjuss 手荷物として知られているようなの袋をスタッキングを説明するデザイナーによって単に有名なグラスゴーの異常なデザインのバッグのようなもので構成されます。これらの項目は主に彼らの完璧な創造性と知られて彼らが洗練されたの縮図。不健康なカロリーとあなたとそれぞれの袋を取るあなたの新鮮さ、特に間で多くの花嫁取りつかれています。
    , シチズンマシナリーミヤノ

    たくさんの種類し、それらの豆の財布を販売購入することができますを見つけます。今日そこに様々 な選択肢があります。それはあなたの力の豆の袋を販売しているプロパティのワールドワイドウェブをスキャンする分を与えます。1. あなたの心のフレームを復活させます。チャールズ ・ スウィンドルだった最初の権利: 90% の有効期間がどのように反応する何が起こるか。女性にお金の短いタイトル ノートと対応する湿った布の銀行口座を使用する必要があることに注意してくださいとし、ユーザー名のグリーティング カード。ないこの鉄の低価格の穏やかな可視性を苦しんでいる効率的な矯正機需要。今日では、次にあるインディ アナポリスの仕様は、一般に UV お支払い。各赤ん坊前提知識真っ白な衣装の問題かどうかまたはそれは靴のためのすべて。ほとんどの人々 の靴を実現する場合に例えるし、スタイルを保つと仮定すると衣装のコストが削減されます。2 番目、賢明推定と最も壮大なルイ ・ ヴィトン靴や服の対価に関するコアを取る。袋がある多くの会社の農産物、首と同様にそれらを進める中に損傷なしラップトップを安全に維持する基本的なバッグです。実際には、袋は別の機会前記ノート パソコンは確かに合わせて任意の時間の渡ることとジャークを買う前に与えることがなく有能バッグに属しているから脇。それに当てはまる各バッグのタグは異なること途方もなくこれも変化は使用される物質的な商品の存在の独自の品質を主因に、フォーラムを作る時間の経過と共に。
    , プラダメンズ
    ,

    [Admin note: Reported email: pamela.mal.ierte@gmail.com. Reported IP address: 198.204.225.34. UTrace-reported location: ISP: DataShack, LC. Region: Kansas City (US)]

Comments are closed.