I am in a superposition state of |being jobless> + |having a job>

Currently, I am in a superposition of the two basis states: |being jobless> and |with a job>.

Allow me to explain.

The first basis state should be self-explanatory to many of you. As many of you know, for the 1.5 years since December 2011, I had been going jobless. Even as of today, I still haven’t actually joined any job. So, there.

As to the second basis state: Well, I have been offered a job as a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department, at the Yadavrao Tasgaonkar Institute of Engineering and Technology, Karjat (YTIET, for short) [^]. So, I do have a job. Ergo, the existence of the second basis state.

But, why the superposition, you ask? Why not just the second state?

The thing is: Though I have the offer for this next job in hand, I haven’t actually joined it. The next semester starts in July, and that’s the time when I will get measured i.e. my state will actually collapse to that of |having a job> i.e. I will actually join the job and be placed on the official employee registers, be eligible for receiving a salary, etc.

Until that time, I will continue to remain in the state of this superposition of |being jobless> plus |having a job>.

Now, a bit about my new job.

YTIET is a relatively recent, self-financed engineering college, affiliated to the University of Mumbai. The institute offers UG programs in six branches, and PG (ME) programs in electronics and mechanical engineering (as of today, only in the machine design specialization). I will be teaching both the PG and UG students. The institute is located about 10 km from Karjat.

Karjat is a small town about 120 km away from Pune by road. Karjat is actually the last halt for the Mumbai commuter trains (informally called “local”s) plying on the SE railways side (i.e. on the Mumbai–Pune side). It is situated at the base of the famous Khandala “ghaat” (i.e. mountain-pass). Though the town is small, all trains (including the superfast ones) must take a brief halt at Karjat, because it’s here that the train engine is augmented with additional engines, to be able to climb the steep ghat. (I don’t know the reason why the trains going down the ghat also take a brief halt there!)

The Pune-Karjat daily commute for a job would not be totally impossible (a few km to the Pune train station from home + about 2.15 hours by train + 10 km further by bus), but it would be difficult enough for someone like me to avoid it. So, I plan to move to Karjat (or Panvel or so).

* * * * *

I had been jobless for 1.5 years because the University of Pune interprets the UGC/AICTE rules in a way that disallows the BE+MTech Metallurgy engineers from becoming professors of Mechanical engineering, even if they have a subsequent PhD in Mechanical Engineering.  [The University of Pune’s way of interpreting the UGC/AICTE rules also is the one that does not bar the BE+ME Electronics engineers from becoming Professors (and PhD guides) in the Computer Science and Engineering branch. [Yes, you got it right—the Dean of University of Pune himself has this background.]]

I got the job in the University of Mumbai because, in that university, the same rules are interpreted in a way that does not disallow metallurgical engineers from becoming professors of mechanical engineering. Not only are there well-known precedents (e.g. BTech, MTech and PhD all in Materials + Metallurgy from IIT Bombay), the University of Mumbai had also already gone ahead and come out with a detailed document that had clearly mentioned such guidelines. (In fact, as far as I know, none of the neighbouring universities—be it Mumbai, or Shivaji, or Solapur, or Marathwada—has this metallurgy-vs-mechanical branch jumping problem; only the University of Pune does.)

Another reason I went jobless for such a long time is that software companies in Pune either don’t do any real core work here, all of which is done at the parent companies’ offices abroad, or, if at all some such work is sent offshore here, then the local Indian idiots managers, in an attempt to save their, say, “basis,” keep all “senior” people like me, out, no matter how competent. In fact, it’s already more than a decade since the time that Infosys managers deliberately began recruiting only First Class graduates and keeping Distinction Class graduates out, in order to improve their “retention ratio.” (In this sense, the Pune s/w managers are not very different from the retired colonels of the Indian army of the sort I had discussed in one of my past posts. The morality of all such Indians is not different from that of those American JPBTIs who stole my writings at LinkedIn.)

Anyway, back to YTIET and all. … Once my mother passed away, it was no longer necessary for me to be near her in Pune, and so, the location now no longer was a constraint for me. So, I had began applying to the engineering colleges affiliated to the University of Mumbai, sometime in late March. I received quite a fair response from the very first college where I had applied. I in fact had an interview as early as in the first week of April, but they didn’t immediately release an appointment letter because theirs is a very new college—their very first UG batch has just finished only the first year and they of course don’t have any PG program—and so, they were not sure if it would be an optimal match for either of us. So, they kept the matter in abeyance for some more time. In the meanwhile, YTIET was one of the next group of colleges where I applied, and things went through fairly rapidly and smoothly here. Karjat also would be convenient for me from the viewpoint of keeping in touch with my friends and relatives from Pune.

* * * * *   * * * * *    * * * * * 


A Song I Like:

[Not sure if I have run this one before or not. Even if yes, I would like to rerun it. And, as a very rare exception, I also highly recommend the movie i.e. the visual part of this song. BTW, the location for this song is Khandaalaa ghaat at whose base is Karjat. Thus, all the sites in this song are barely within 10–25 kms from Karjat. Of course, the fact that it all looks so stunning only in the monsoons, is another story.]
(Hindi) “chhoTi si kahaani se, baarishon ke paani se…”
Singer: Aashaa Bhosale
Music: R. D. Burman
Lyrics: Gulzaar
[E&OE]

One thought on “I am in a superposition state of |being jobless> + |having a job>

  1. Pingback: |Professor> Ajit R. Jadhav | Ajit Jadhav's Weblog

Comments are closed.