A List of My Enemies

1. Dr. Nitin B. Kulkarni. MBBS (BJMC), PhD (Michigan), MD (Psychiatry). Founder, Ayn Rand Thinkers’ Club, Pune (ARTC). Formerly (in 1991), a recipient of a minor travel etc. grant from the Ayn Rand Institute. Currently, Psychiatrist and Assistant Medical Director, Patton State Hospital, CA, USA.

2. Mrs. Nina Nitin Kulkarni (Miss Sadhana V. Nagarkar). B.Com., MA (Psychology), etc. Currently (since 1994 (?)), Nitin Kulkarni’s current wife. Also, my ex-wife, of a marriage that lasted essentially for less than a month, and which should not have taken place in the first place.

3. Mrs. Pradnya Martz (Miss Pradnya Prabhakar Walhekar). Convent educated. B. Arch. (JJ School), Masters in Architecture (Massachusetts, Amherst). Currently, employed with the Oberlin College, OH, USA. The Kulkarnis’ “friend.”

4. Dr. Amar Ghorpade. MBBS (Miraj), Grad. Studies in Psychiatry (Lousiana State, Baton Rouge). Currently, Associate Chief of Psychiatry, New York Methodist Hospital.

And, all their Objectivist and other supporters and/or users, including those in FBI, CIA, etc. This is quite a bunch, and they are necessarily to be included any time I mention the above four.

A couple of characters who were only borderline cases back then (17–20 years ago) but who by now have faded out. I mention them just in order to sharpen the difference of the above four from the rest of them:

1. Dr. Sandip Tulshiram Patil. MBBS (BJMC, Pune). PhD. (?).
2. Mr. Shirish Kulkarni. Chartered Accountant, Pune.

The only members/associates of the ARTC who did not turn out to be my enemies, then, or later on:
1. Dr. Kiran Kharat. MBBS (BJMC, Pune). MS Ortho (completed?) (BJMC, Pune). MS Ortho (England). Currently, based in the UK, with visiting associations in hospitals in Pune.
2. Mrs. Netra Shirish Kulkarni. B. Sc. Shirish’s wife.

I have made many friends in life, and then, comparatively very rarely, also some enemies. The 80/20 rule, recently discussed in an article in the DNA newspaper, applies also to friendships turning into enmities. What people usually do is to forget, even forgive, and carry on with their lives. Which, all in all, works out well for relationships, for maintaining the fabric of a society. That’s usually everyone’s experience, and mine is no different—it is difficult to become or have enemies, by that 80/20 rule. It does take something out of the ordinary to become an enemy. But, yes, if there is an enmity, I am not going to evade it either.

So, I have made enemies too, even if they are far rarer as compared to friends. By way of numbers, that is. And, by way of values? Nowhere even near. (BTW, might as well mention it here. I consider also Swami Vivekananda a friend. In fact, that’s what the thought to cross my mind within the first 30 seconds was, when I read about his recent 150th anniversary, at Dr. Dey’s blog a couple of days ago. A friend. … Oh! I know what you mean, but never mind! The Swami did keep a huge company of friends, and it’s OK to call him that—a friend—provided you yourself are pure in extending your friendship to him, anyway. (BTW, but for the bad atmosphere created by BJP-RSS-Internet Hindus (and their Christian/Muslim etc. counterparts elsewhere), it would not have been really necessary to state it separately that it is OK to criticize intellectual positions of friends, too—provided it is done right.))

But even if I have made many enemies (e.g. those “Java” etc. bustards from the San Francisco Bay Area who first treated me as enemies and hence I had no choice but to fight back), the first four characters mentioned here in this post are rather different. They did require a separate mention. And, note that before going ahead and thus stating their names publicly, I have waited for years, suffering career setbacks, financial setbacks, even psychic attacks and all. Indeed, I think many of you do know that I do believe that many of these psychic attacks originate from within the USA, that at least some of them follow the US government’s policies and decisions (and those of the governmental agencies such as the FBI, CIA, etc.). It is this part—psychic attacks—which has made it necessary for me to put these names in this manner here. I don’t mean to say that the psychic attacks originate with these actively evil or at least extraordinarily dishonest and ingrate a set of characters. My point is that if tomorrow I come to know that the game originated with them, or that they added fuel to the attackers’ fire, I wouldn’t be surprised in the least. (My mother may get surprised, perhaps also my father—but I wouldn’t. And, I hope, at least some of my friends wouldn’t, whether they knew these characters first-hand or not.)

* * * * *    * * * * *    * * * * *

A Song I Like:

(Marathi): “ek ek virate taaraa, aasmant ye aakaaraa,
ubhaa devaraayaa kshitijaavarati,
uThi shreedharaa re, sarali raati…”
Lyrics: (Shanta Shelke ??)
Music: ??
Singer: (Suman Kalyanpur ??)

[Note: This again is a song whose credits I neither can remember nor can I access via an Internet search. It certainly was a poem prescribed in the school-time texts for us. I have only a vague of recollection of having heard it as a recorded song. I remember the tune very distinctly, of course, and I can even upload or send you an audio file of my (bad) hummings if it will help you locate the song. I feel the lyricist most probably was Shanta Shelke (but then, I sometimes end up attributing to her many songs which actually were not hers). The singer could be Suman Kalyanpur.

… For non-Marathi readers: By way of formal genre, this song sure is a “bhupaali,” but a very different one. It is a very light song. It is a song that welcomes the beginning of a new day. It does so neither with the noises of the road traffic nor with the stern finality of a military siren. Nor even with the discernibly regimented voice of a classical number. Instead, this song seems to welcome the day with the natural sounds surrounding an idyllic village (one which is not a holiday resort). I will post a rough translation of the poem itself later on. … In terms of the tune, it is a very peace- and calm-inducing song. It is that sort of calm which is suited not to retire to sleep but to gently break it. Not to make a new beginning but to help you prepare your soul to do so. The tune is an ideal accompaniment to that sense of awareness which precedes any awareness of any mental activity for any sort of planning for the actual day. The song goes with just the barest grasp of a fresh, nice, welcoming day, that’s all. … If you are familiar with Marathi literature (and hence with the metaphors, idioms, etc., used in it), this song carries that same touch of wholesomeness as is found in such expressions as this one: “The place was new, but for some odd reason, it seemed familiar, as familiar as the smell of mother’s used saree.”

….Some songs you remember in your troubled times. Others are the songs, you realize only later on, you should have remembered in those troubled times, but somehow, didn’t. And there are still other songs… They are so simple and light, they simply descend on you regardless of the times you are in. This song is one of those. To the psychic attackers: I didn’t choose this song because there is this word “taaraa” in it, to remind Tara Malkani. Nope. I didn’t. I “chose” it because it is one of those songs that finds me out when I need them, so to speak.]

[Written in a hurry, I will edit this once more, and then leave them.

… Oh, BTW, this blog is not meant to be kid-sister-friendly, and so, I could have used words appropriate to describe these characters without a sense of hesitation. But frankly, I don’t use such words unless there is that emotional intensity present in the very moment in which they are to be used. I mean, one doesn’t insult even the “bad” words, does one? Right now, I feel nothing, and so, I didn’t use those words. But yes, I have used such words in the past, and God knows I will do so again, too! I may delete this last comment during the pending editing—or then, again, I may not!!]

[E&OE]

